7 Days of Making: Day Five

I started thinking about the fragility of bees, and there dependence on so many different factors (mono-culture, pesticides, habitat loss, mites etc.). I was also quite frustrated by the fact that no bees are around at this time of year, so I have not been able to see any!

I decided I wanted to make my own bees. That combined with the idea of using a fragile, (possibly disposable material) led me to the idea of origami. Small, quick, cheap and fragile!

I used some simple instructions online (although, I realize that my origami method is slightly off) to form the foundation of my origami bee: http://www.origami-resource-center.com/easy-origami-bee.html

Et voila!

File_000

Leave a Reply

